Historic Fallsington
The "falls" of the Delaware River is not a dramatic waterfall but, rather, the rapids that mark the highest navigable point on the river. The names of Fallsington and Falls Township derive from it. A brief summary of Fallsington history follows. For fascinating detail, select The King's Highways, Fallsington's Story, or The Founding of Falls Meeting buttons in the right panel.

The records of the Falls Monthly Meeting of the Society of Friends have been preserved from 1683 to the present.

Records of 1686 detail the development of a King's Highway passing through Fallsington on the way from Philadelphia to the Falls Ferry (in today's Morrisville, PA). Through roads connected from the far side of the River to New York and North.

In 1690, Samuel Burgess donated six acres to the Meeting for construction of the first meetinghouse in town, replacing the earliest on Biles Island in the Delaware.  This became the nucleus around which the Village of Fallsington formed.

During his second visit to North America, in 1699 through 1701, William Penn worshipped and preached at the meetinghouse.

During the Revolution, Washington's retreat across the Delaware in December 1776 brought war fearfully close. The majority of Quakers followed their pacifist tenets, but the Meeting raised subscriptions to relieve the suffering in Philadelphia during the British occupation of 1777 and 1778.

The village evolved through a succession of periods in American history and architecture.  Significant homes in Fallsington range from the late 17th through the Victorian era of the mid-19th century. Fallsington was a center of commerce. In the 1860's a business directory listed blacksmiths, a butcher, carpenters, a carriage builder, a cooper, farmers, an insurance agent, machinists, physicians, a surveyor, and a wheelwright.

You can see a unique capsule of history in an ordinary American village, with roots in Pennsylvania's distinctive Quaker origins.

It is remarkably unspoiled.